Ten Leadership Secrets

“Next are the Prophets, in which there is one book of the Psalms of David; and three books of Solomon, viz., Proverbs, Song of Songs, and Ecclesiastes. For two books, one called Wisdom and the other Ecclesiasticus, are ascribed to Solomon from a certain resemblance of style, but the most likely opinion is that they were written by Jesus the son of Sirach. Still they are to be reckoned among the prophetical books, since they have attained recognition as being authoritative.  (Augustine, “On Christian Doctrine.”)

10 Leadership Secrets  by  Jesus, the son of Sirach (Sirach 2:1-11)

  1. Stand in justice and fear,
  2. Prepare yourself for trials.
  3. Be sincere of heart and steadfast,
  4. Incline your ear and receive the word of understanding,
  5. Be undisturbed in time of adversity.
  6. Wait on God, with patience, cling to him, forsake him not;
    thus will you be wise in all your ways.
  7. Accept whatever befalls you,
    1. when sorrowful, be steadfast,
    2. and in crushing misfortune be patient;
    3. For in fire gold and silver are tested,
      and worthy people in the crucible of humiliation.
  8. Trust God and God will help you;
    trust in him, and he will direct your way;
  9. Keep his fear and grow old therein.
    1. You who fear the LORD, wait for his mercy,
      turn not away lest you fall.
    2. You who fear the LORD, trust him,
      and your reward will not be lost.
    3. You who fear the LORD, hope for good things,
      for lasting joy and mercy.
    4. You who fear the LORD, love him,
      and your hearts will be enlightened.
  10. Study the generations long past and understand;
    1. Has anyone hoped in the LORD and been disappointed?
    2. Has anyone persevered in his commandments and been forsaken?
    3. Has anyone called upon him and been rebuffed?



Author: gbradepp

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.